General Winfield Scott’s Hair Emporium

And so it begins. Maybe. I’ve been fiddling around with a lot of things recently, a lot of ideas. Some maybe a little more outrageous than others. But I figure this place is a good a place as any to begin my poster/writing project.

What I am hoping for this project to be is to come up with some ideas that would make interesting posters that have interesting stories/thoughts to go along with it. Ideally, I would make one every day, but right now, it’s been closer to just working on them everyday. Hopefully I can build up to finishing one a day, though. I have a bunch of ideas, so at least that’s there.

As for this, I recently went to the National Portrait Gallery and happened to come across some pretty cool stuff. Though I was confused by some of the display choices. Not of Winfield Scott. Winfield Scott is pretty awesome. Mostly because his nickname is Old Fuss and Feathers. But also because he once sported a rhino.

No, I’m more referring to the fact that I managed to find TWO portraits of William Henry “Our-president-who-served-the-shortest-term-ever-because-he-made-a-really-long-inauguration-speech-in-the-rain-got-pneumonia-and-then-died” Harrison but not a single portrait of Founding Father Hottie Alexander Hamilton. So I was suspicious. Clearly someone was not exercising any judgment when they chose which portraits to display.

As for the poster, I’m not too found of how it turned out. I’m not really enamored of the color scheme. It could be better. Also, I don’t know if I like this image version of the poster. I definitely like the PDF better, but you can’t display the PDF in a blog. So this is my compromise.

About the Poster:  The image is a photograph (taken by me) of William Rush’s bust of General Winfield Scott that is displayed as a part of the permanent collection at the National Portrait Gallery in Washington, DC. The typefaces are Old Style Goudy by Frederic Goudy and Goudy Bookletter 1911 by Barry Schwartz. The latter is an open source font distributed by the League of Moveable Type.

Leave a Reply

