Quotables: On the Mysterious Mysteries of Cheese

So clearly a) I have been slacking and b) this poster is fairly simple. I got a little caught up in moving house, but also am suffering from a lack of inspiration. Meryl’s idea of the Circus Sideshow Posters did get me thinking. I haven’t fleshed anything out yet, but it did get the cogs turning.

However, I did come up with an idea for a bigger project that I’m really excited about. It’s going to take me a while, so I’ll probably do a lot more of these little quote posters (and anything else I might think of) in the interim while I’m working on the bigger project.

What’s really nice about these quote-finding missions that I’ve pushed myself towards is that I get to find out about some really interesting people that I did not know about before. Like G.K. Chesterton! He cray. Mostly he had a lot of really insightful and/or witty quotes. Like this one on poets and cheese. It’s a helpful suggestion, I think. (Get on that Frank Sanchez!)

My favorite part, however, is his Wikiquotes page. Mostly for the pictures. If you scroll down and pay attention to the pictures to your right, you will come to realize that those pictures are the randomest assortment of things that may or may not be tangentially related to the attached quote below it. Best.

About the Poster: The typefaces used are Sorts Mill Goudy by Barry Schwartz, distributed via the League of Moveable Type and Cooper Std. The quote is from G.K. Chesterton’s essay collection Alarms and Discursions.

3 thoughts on “Quotables: On the Mysterious Mysteries of Cheese

  1. This is v true, I have a blog called poemsaboutpeas, and have also set one up called poemsaboutcheese, but there has been surprisingly little cheese inspiration, in fact none so far!

Leave a Reply

