The Persistent Pessimist

Image

So recently, I’ve been wallowing in nostalgia for no reason whatsoever. In addition, I’ve been having a hard time figuring out what exactly I’m being nostalgic over. Mostly nostalgia reigns when I’m perusing the internet for things Sherlock-related. So am I being nostalgic for watching Sherlock? Possibly. Definitely the news that the new season won’t air until late 2013/early 2014 has got me all weepy. Alternatively, I could be nostalgic for London. Which would be silly because I was only there for a week. More likely is that I’m nostalgic for a really big walking city.

What is probably the most likely is that I’m marinating in this need for a really good narrative, and Sherlock gave me a tiny little fix. But it was clearly not enough. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt this invested in a piece of fiction in a really long time. I was trying to think of the last time, and I think it might have been high school era back when Heroes was actually good (that was a rather short-lived experience, though). Or it might have been even before that back when I was super invested in Harry Potter and, you know, actually liked Harry as a human being instead of hoping for his death because really that’s the only ending with any sort of closure.

Anyways, I made this Instagram-esque thing with a quote from the most persistent of pessimists, the king of nostalgia, Kurt Vonnegut from Billy Pilgrim’s epitaph in Slaughterhouse-Five. So it goes.

Disclaimer: The image for this poster is a screenshot from Sherlock, the BBC show. I don’t really have any rights to it. I’ve also made it wall-paper-sized for anyone who is interested.

About the Typeface: The typeface is Spatha Serif.

One thought on “The Persistent Pessimist

Leave a Reply

